The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

9780060530945

A spooky, thoughtful, and atmospheric Newbery Medal winner.

Recommended grade level: 4 and up

Pages: 312 (for ISBN 9780060530921)

Genre(s) and keywords: fantasy, (light) horror, award winner, Kylie’s favorites

Tone/Style: eerie, mysterious

Pace: moderate

Topics: ghosts, graveyards, murder, magic

Themes: finding one’s place in the world, growing up

Summary: Bod is an unusual boy who inhabits an unusual place-he’s the only living resident of a graveyard. Raised from infancy by the ghosts, werewolves, and other cemetery denizens, Bod has learned the antiquated customs of his guardians’ time as well as their timely ghostly teachings-like the ability to Fade. Can a boy raised by ghosts face the wonders and terrors of the worlds of both the living and the dead? And then there are things like ghouls that aren’t really one thing or the other. This chilling tale is Neil Gaiman’s first full-length novel for middle-grade readers since the internationally bestselling and universally acclaimed Coraline. Like Coraline, this book is sure to enchant and surprise young readers as well as Neil Gaiman’s legion of adult fans. (Source)

Who will like this book?: Spooky, beautifully written, and full of fascinating characters, there’s a lot to hold the attention in this Newbery Medal winner. It’s creepy, but not in an in-your-face way like. Give it to kids who like atmospheric stories that spring to life from the page.

Who won’t like this book?: Although there is a common main character and overarching plot, the book is made up of several loosely woven short stories. As such, the book doesn’t build up the type of momentum some readers, especially reluctant ones, might crave. Though it’s not the scariest in its genre, some may find the book too scary.

Other comments: There are two graphic novel volumes of this story, as well.  Fun fact: this book is based loosely on The Jungle Book.

Sequel(s):

Readalikes: Fans should check out Gaiman’s other works, especially Coraline for younger readers and The Sleeper and the Spindle for older readers. Far Far Away by Tom McNeal is another creepy character-driven tale.

-Kylie Peters

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s