The Lost Years of Merlin by T.A. Barron (1996) (aka Merlin: The Lost Years)

The-Lost-Years-of-Merlin-Book-CoverThis modern classic embraces its epic roots along with a dash of humor and a down-to-earth sensibility in the tale of a young Merlin and a captivating magical island.

Recommended grade level: 4-7

Pages: 326 (for ISBN 9780399230189)

Genre(s) and keywords: fantasy, high fantasy, myth, Kylie’s favorites

Tone/Style: magical, epic, lighthearted

Pace: moderate

Topics: magic, amnesia, Arthurian legend, names

Themes: self-discovery, destiny, belonging, responsibility to friends

Summary: A raging sea tosses a boy upon the shores of ancient Wales. Left for dead, he has no memory, no name, and no home. But it is his determination to find out who he is—to learn the truth about his mysterious powers—that leads him to a strange and enchanted land. And it is there he discovers that the fate of this land and his personal quest are strangely entwined. (Source)

Who will like this book?: This is a classic-style coming-of-age fantasy epic incorporating elements of myth. With its tried-and-true formula, it is likely to appeal to any reader who enjoys fantasy (particularly epic fantasy) and myth.

Who won’t like this book?: It’s fantasy through and through, so don’t recommend it to someone who isn’t on board with that. Readers looking for something especially different or daring in their fantasy may find this old hat.

Other comments: Full disclosure: I love love loved this book when I was young. Does that mean kids now love it? Not necessarily. But it may have influenced the contents of this entry.

Sequel(s): The Seven Songs of Merlin (1997) (aka The Seven Songs), The Fires of Merlin (1998) (aka The Raging Fires), The Mirror of Merlin (1999) (aka The Mirror of Fate), The Wings of Merlin (2000) (aka A Wizard’s Wings). See also the related series the Merlin’s Dragon trilogy and the Great Tree of Avalon trilogy.

Readalikes: Point readers toward classic high fantasy like Lloyd Alexander’s Chronicles of Prydain, C.S. Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia, and J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit. Also try Tamora Pierce’s books (particularly for girls), The Ranger’s Apprentice series by John Flanagan, and Eragon by Christopher Paolini.

-Kylie

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s