Geek Girl by Holly Smale (2013)

geek girlThis light, funny book speaks to the geek in all of us.

Recommended grade level: 6-10

Pages: 378 (for ISBN 9780007489442)

Genre(s) and keywords: humor, chick lit, British import, international, Europe (England)

Tone/Style: self-deprecating, geeky

Pace: moderate

Topics: modeling, geeks, crushes, fashion and style

Themes: reinventing oneself, friendship, leaving your comfort zone

Summary: Geek + runway = a runaway UK hit! Geek Girl is the first book in a hilarious, internationally bestselling series that’s perfect for fans of Louise Rennison and The Princess Diaries.

Harriet Manners is a geek. She always has been, and she thought she always would be—but when she’s discovered by a modeling agent, she leaps at the chance to reinvent herself. There’s only one problem: Harriet is the definition of awkward. Can she transform from geek to chic? (Source)

Who will like this book?: I’ve been talking this one up to girls lately, and they’re really liking it. It has broad appeal for girls who like humor and realistic fiction. This is a good one to draw in “girly-girl” types who think they don’t like to read.

Who won’t like this book?: I hate to gender stereotype, but it’s a rare middle school boy who will be secure enough to read a book about a girl’s modeling career. Obviously it won’t appeal to the set who only likes sci-fi and fantasy, either.

Other comments: Harriet is really relatable, even to non-geeks. We’ve all had those clumsy moments, those times we did something and then smacked ourselves for it, and those times we tried our best at something but didn’t feel we were any good at it.

Sequel(s): In the U.S.: M0del Misfit (2015), Picture Perfect (2016). Book 4, All That Glitters and book 5, Head Over Heels, are available in the U.K. and will presumably hit American shores soon.

Readalikes: The book’s marketing suggests Louise Rennison‘s books, though those have slightly more mature content than Geek Girl. Also suggest Meg Cabot‘s books, especially Airhead (recommended for grades 7 and up).

One thought on “Geek Girl by Holly Smale (2013)

  1. Pingback: Fashion Rebels: Style Icons Who Changed the World Through Fashion by Carlyn Cerniglia Beccia (2016) | Flashlight Chronicles

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s