Unstoppable: True Stories of Amazing Bionic Animals by Nancy Furstinger (2017)

unstoppableCute, inspiring, and photo-heavy, this feel-good title is great for browsing.

Recommended grade level: 4 and up

Pages:  128 (for ISBN 9780544879669)

Genre(s) and keywords: nonfiction, science, reluctant readers

Tone/Style: positive, encouraging

Pace: fast

Topics: medical technology, prosthetics

Themes: different abilities, innovation, helping others, overcoming challenges

Summary: In Unstoppable, animals are both benefiting from and helping out the world of prosthetic science – including all species, situations, and science backgrounds. From the high-tech science of 3D printing, to inflatables, to toy wheels, this title has it all. Unstoppable is a perfect fit for science enthusiasts and animal lovers alike. (Source)

Who will like this book?: Most readers should enjoy flipping through this book. Some readers will prefer to skip around and others will want to read it cover-to-cover; it works well both ways. The stories of animals overcoming the odds, and the human who help them, inspire a sense of hope and goodwill that make reading this a joyful experience.

Who won’t like this book?: This is a light read, with large pictures and small blurbs about the animals, as well as some general information about the science and technology involved. Avid readers and subject enthusiasts may want more depth or detail. It’s not an ideal choice for someone looking to curl up and get lost in a book for a long time.

Sequel(s): None

Readalikes: For stories of people learning to use prosthetics, try The Running Dream by Wendelin Van Draanen or A Time to Dance by Padma Venkatraman.  There’s also a Loss of Limbs in YA Books booklist on YALSA’s The Hub. When I booktalked this title, the kids informed me that the dolphin in this book is the basis for the movie Dolphin Tale, so that could be a good view-alike.

-Kylie Peters

Image credit: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32204077-unstoppable

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s