Felix Yz by Lisa Bunker (2017)

felix yzThis unusual story with an LGBTQA+ diverse cast is both humorous and thought-provoking.

Recommended grade level: 6-8

Pages: 283 (for ISBN 9780425288504)

Genre(s) and keywords: science fiction, humor, LGBTQA+, diverse

Tone/Style: epistolary, conversational

Pace: moderate to fast

Topics: aliens, accidents, impending surgery, crushes

Themes: death, family, being different 

Summary: Felix is thirteen. When he was three, because of a science experiment gone wrong, he was fused with a fourth-dimensional being named Zyx, who communicates by using Felix’s fingers to type. Counting down to a risky procedure to separate them again, Felix blogs about a boy at school he likes, a bully, his mom’s annoying boyfriend, the threeness of things, and more, and we meet an Estonian chess grandmaster, Felix’s piano genius sister, his gender-switching grandparent, the denizens of the House on Harmony Street, and many other quirky and fascinating folks. (Source) Continue reading

Well That Was Awkward by Rachel Vail (2017)

awkwardIt’s Cyrano de Bergerac with smartphones. Diverse and thoroughly modern.

Recommended grade level: 6 and up

Pages:  320 (for ISBN 9780670013081)

Genre(s) and keywords: realistic fiction, romance, diverse

Tone/Style: modern, youthful, sarcastic

Pace: leisurely to moderate

Topics: cons, technology, crushes

Themes: friendship, dating relationships, growing up, change

Summary: Gracie has never felt like this before.  One day, she suddenly can’t breathe, can’t walk, can’t anything—and the reason is standing right there in front of her, all tall and weirdly good-looking: A.J. Continue reading

Geek Girl by Holly Smale (2013)

geek girlThis light, funny book speaks to the geek in all of us.

Recommended grade level: 6-10

Pages: 378 (for ISBN 9780007489442)

Genre(s) and keywords: humor, chick lit, British import, international, Europe (England)

Tone/Style: self-deprecating, geeky

Pace: moderate

Topics: modeling, geeks, crushes, fashion and style

Themes: reinventing oneself, friendship, leaving your comfort zone

Summary: Geek + runway = a runaway UK hit! Geek Girl is the first book in a hilarious, internationally bestselling series that’s perfect for fans of Louise Rennison and The Princess Diaries. Continue reading

My Life in Pink and Green by Lisa Greenwald (2009)

mylifeinpinkandgreenA light read about a seventh grade girl who hopes to turn her skill in makeup artistry into a business that can save her family’s pharmacy.

Recommended grade level: 4-7

Pages: 272 (for ISBN 9780810983526)

Genre(s) and keywords: realistic fiction, chick lit

Continue reading