The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang (2018)

princeAn uplifting graphic novel about celebrating yourself.

Recommended grade level: 6 and up

Pages:   228 (for ISBN 9781626723634)

Genre(s) and keywords: graphic novel, LGBTQIA+, historical fiction

Tone/Style: stylish, fairy-tale-esque

Pace: fast

Topics: gender roles, royalty, fashion, drag, secrets, marriage

Themes: being different, being oneself, friendship, responsibility, expectations

Summary: Paris, at the dawn of the modern age:

Prince Sebastian is looking for a bride―or rather, his parents are looking for one for him. Sebastian is too busy hiding his secret life from everyone. At night he puts on daring dresses and takes Paris by storm as the fabulous Lady Crystallia―the hottest fashion icon in the world capital of fashion!

Continue reading

Fashion Rebels: Style Icons Who Changed the World Through Fashion by Carlyn Cerniglia Beccia (2016)

A celebration of women throughout history who had confidence in themselves and used style to make a difference.

Recommended grade level: 4 and up

Pages:  176 (for ISBN 9781582704876)

Genre(s) and keywords: nonfiction, reluctant readers

Tone/Style: informational, celebratory

Pace: fast

Topics: fashion, politics, celebrities, women’s rights

Themes: self-expression, confidence, being oneself

Summary: Throughout time, daring women have made fashion choices that have altered the course of history. From Marie Antoinette, who wore a hairstyle as large as her presence, to Coco Chanel, who imagined a world without rib crushing corsets and heavy gowns, to Katharine Hepburn, who walked around the studio in her underwear when studio executives refused to let her wear her then-scandalous jeans, these women were mavericks as well as rebellious icons. Continue reading

Geek Girl by Holly Smale (2013)

geek girlThis light, funny book speaks to the geek in all of us.

Recommended grade level: 6-10

Pages: 378 (for ISBN 9780007489442)

Genre(s) and keywords: humor, chick lit, British import, international, Europe (England)

Tone/Style: self-deprecating, geeky

Pace: moderate

Topics: modeling, geeks, crushes, fashion and style

Themes: reinventing oneself, friendship, leaving your comfort zone

Summary: Geek + runway = a runaway UK hit! Geek Girl is the first book in a hilarious, internationally bestselling series that’s perfect for fans of Louise Rennison and The Princess Diaries. Continue reading

My Life in Pink and Green by Lisa Greenwald (2009)

mylifeinpinkandgreenA light read about a seventh grade girl who hopes to turn her skill in makeup artistry into a business that can save her family’s pharmacy.

Recommended grade level: 4-7

Pages: 272 (for ISBN 9780810983526)

Genre(s) and keywords: realistic fiction, chick lit

Continue reading